

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Pamela Silberman, Director of Communications

Office: 801.321.7110 Cell: 801.633.8177

Email: psilberman@utahsbr.edu

December II, 2013

State Board of Regents Names Members of Salt Lake Community College Presidential Search Committee

SALT LAKE CITY – The Board of Regents has named a 21-member committee to search for the next president of Salt Lake Community College. Current President Cynthia Bioteau, who announced her resignation in October, takes office as president of the Florida State College at Jacksonville in January. Dr. Deneece Huftalin will serve as Interim President until a new president of SLCC is selected and takes office. Regent France Davis will lead the committee, which is comprised of representatives from the Board of Regents, trustees, faculty, staff, students, and alumni of SLCC, as well as community members from throughout Salt Lake County. A complete list of the search committee membership follows below. The search committee will hold several public meetings in early 2014 to obtain input from members of the SLCC community and the general public on the presidential search. More information about these meetings will be posted on https://presidentialsearches as it becomes available.

SLCC Presidential Search Committee Members

Board of Regents	
France Davis	Search Committee Chair
Jesselie Anderson	Regent
Harris Simmons	Regent
Marlin Jensen	Regent
SLCC Board of Trustees	
Gail Miller	Trustee Chair & Search Committee Vice Chair
Stan Parrish	Trustee Vice Chair
Clint Ensign	Trustee Executive Committee Member
Jessica Fowler	2013-14 SLCC Student Body President
SLCC Administration, Faculty, & Staff	
Clifton Sanders	Dean of Science

Jane Drexler	Faculty Senate Pres./Assoc. Professor of Philosophy
Joseph Gallegos	Faculty Association Pres./Assoc. Professor Mathematics
Jana Mitchell	Surgical Technology faculty
Mequette Sorensen	Social Work Faculty
Michael Blain	Staff Association President (Facilities department)
Community/Alumni Representatives	
Ben McAdams	Mayor, Salt Lake County
Kim Henrichsen	SLCC Foundation Chair, Vice President of Clinical Operations and Chief Nursing Officer, Intermountain Health Care
Craig Sandberg	Chair, Program Advisory Committee; SLCC Alum & South High Alumni Association Board
Dale Cox	President, AFL-CIO of Utah
Jeff Edwards	President and CEO EDCUtah
Todd Bingham	President, Utah Manufacturers Association
Rosie Hunter	Director, University Neighborhood Partners

THE UTAH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION is comprised of eight public colleges and universities governed by the State Board of Regents, assisted by local Boards of Trustees. The System includes research universities, regional universities, and community colleges. The eight USHE institutions are: the University of Utah, Utah State University, Weber State University, Southern Utah University, Snow College, Dixie State University, Utah Valley University, and Salt Lake Community College. For more information on the Utah System of Higher Education, visit our website at higheredutah.org.