



August 2019

Liz Hitch

Utah System of Higher Education Institutional Mission/Program Offerings

Institutional Missions and Roles

Regent Policy R312 (*Utah System of Higher Education and Institutional Missions and Roles*) [https://higheredutah.org/policies/policyr312/] establishes the institutional roles for the Utah System of Higher Education consistent with Utah Code 53B-16-101 as follows:

4.1. Research Universities: A research university's role is to provide undergraduate, graduate and research programs and to discover, create, and transmit knowledge through academic programs at the undergraduate, graduate, and professional with emphasis on teaching, research, and service. Transfer programs allow students to seamlessly seek degrees at other institutions within the system. The institution contributes to the quality of life and economic development at the local, state, and national levels. Many research efforts generate grants and contracts that also impact economic development, which underwrites the cost of their products. The **University of Utah** and **Utah State University** are research universities.

4.2. Regional Universities: The regional university's role provide career and technical education, undergraduate associate and baccalaureate programs and select master's degree programs to fill regional or state workforce demands. After a new master's degree program's fifth year, the program should be awarding a minimum average of five degrees per year as measured over a previous three-year period to be considered sustainable. Regional universities emphasize teaching, scholarly, and creative achievements that complement teaching and community service. Transfer programs allow students to seamlessly seek degrees at other institutions within the system. The institution contributes to the quality of life and economic development at the local and state levels. Student success is supported through developmental programs and services associated with a comprehensive community college. **Weber State University**, **Southern Utah University, Utah Valley University**, and **Dixie State University** are regional universities.

4.3 Comprehensive Community Colleges: The comprehensive community college's role is to transmit knowledge and skills through transfer education at the associate of arts and associate of science degree level along with offering associate of applied science degrees, career and technical education, customized training for employers, developmental education, and strong student services to support these functions. Transfer programs prepare graduates to begin upper-division work. The institution emphasizes teaching, training, scholarly, professional, and creative achievement, community service, and contributes to the quality of life and economic development of the community and the state. The comprehensive community college's role is identifiable in its organizational structure and is supported through programs, services, and specific administrative responsibility. **Salt Lake Community College** and **Snow College**

are comprehensive community colleges. All institutions except the University of Utah provide varying degrees of community college functions in their respective service areas.

Institutional Boards of Trustees approve all degree programs/institutional structures (after review by USHE Academic Affairs Staff and USHE Chief Academic Officers and receipt of the Program Review Report that results from this review process) EXCEPT:

- Branches, extension centers, colleges or professional schools
- New programs of instruction outside the institution of higher educations' primary role.

(Utah Code 53B-16-102, approved 9/1/2017: <u>https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53B/Chapter16/53B-16-</u> <u>S102.html?v=C53B-16-S102_2017050920170901</u>)

The Board of Regents must approve the above exceptions. The following are Board-approved exceptions:

- Bachelor of Music with an Emphasis in Commercial Music Snow College
- Bachelor of Software Engineering Snow College
- Doctor of Nursing Practice Weber State University

Designated Service Areas

Regent Policy R315 (*Service Area Designations and Coordination of Off-Campus Courses and Programs*) [https://higheredutah.org/policies/policyr315/] designates institutional service areas by county, level and type of instruction for USHE colleges and universities.

Designated Service Areas are assigned (by county) as follows:

University of Utah: Salt Lake, Summit (Park City only) Utah State University: Cache, Rich, Box Elder, Duchesne, Uintah, Daggett, Tooele, Carbon, Emery, Grand, San Juan Weber State University: Weber, Morgan, Davis Southern Utah University: Iron, Garfield, Beaver Utah Valley University: Utah, Wasatch, Summit (concurrent enrollment only within Park City) Dixie State University: Washington, Kane Snow College: Sanpete, Sevier, Wayne, Piute, Millard, Juab Salt Lake Community College Salt Lake for certificate, applied associate and associate degrees

Exceptions to Designated Service Area Delivery Rules

- **1.** Courses or programs delivered via technology in asynchronous faculty-student interaction (fully "on-line" programs).
- **2.** Self-supporting special contract courses, conferences or programs with industry, government or school districts and not open to the general public are not subject to designated service area rules.
- **3.** Courses/Programs "grandfathered" by the Board of Regents on September 13, 2013 and found at: https://higheredutah.org/pdf/policies/R315/R315_verification_list_2014-03-28.pdf
- **4.** Courses or programs for which there are written agreements between the presidents of the institution offering the course or program outside its designated service area and the institution having responsibility for that service area. Presidents are to provide a copy of the executed written agreement to the Commissioner's office and it will appear as a Notification Item on the Regents' General Consent Calendar.