

Utah Board of Higher Education Snow College Friday, April 14, 2023

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE MINUTES

Board Members Present

Board Members Absent

Lisa-Michele Church, Chair
Jesselie Anderson, Vice Chair
Grace Acosta
Stan Albrecht
Julie Beck
Stacey Bettridge
Rich Christiansen
Sanchaita Datta
Hope Eccles
Korianne Gibson
Patricia Jones
Arthur Newell
Shawn Newell
Steve Starks
Scott Theurer

Office of the Commissioner

Xitlalli Villanueva Rick Wheeler

Dave R. Woolstenhulme, Commissioner of Higher Education Geoffrey Landward, Deputy Commissioner Alison Adams-Perlac, General Counsel Taylor Adams, Associate Commissioner for Strategic Initiatives Brynn Fronk, Executive Assistant to the Utah Board of Higher Education Julie Hartley, Associate Commissioner of Academic Education Nate Talley, Deputy Commissioner and CFO

Snow College Board of Trustees

Leslie Kiesel, Chair Rick Robinson, Vice Chair

Presidential Candidates

Courtney White Kirk Young Stacee McIff

Other Attendees

Members of the Snow College, Ephraim, and Richfield communities

m ushe.edu

Chair Church called the meeting to order at 7:50 a.m.

Vice Chair Anderson moved to go into closed session for the purposes of discussing the character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of an individual. Board member Bettridge seconded the motion, and the motion passed.

Closed Session

Board member Eccles made a motion to end closed session. Board member Rick Wheeler seconded the motion, and the motion passed.

Committee of the Whole

Chair Church welcomed those in attendance and thanked members of the presidential search committee for their efforts. Snow College Board of Trustees Chair Leslie Kiesel provided some brief remarks. Chair Church called for a motion. Vice Chair Anderson moved to appoint Stacee McIff as president of Snow College. Board member Christiansen seconded the motion, and the motion passed. Chair Church introduced President McIff and welcomed her to give remarks. President McIff addressed the group and expressed her appreciation and excitement.

Board member Christiansen moved to adjourn. Board member Gibson seconded the motion, and the motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Geoffrey Landward, Secretary

Date Approved: May 18, 2023

