

Utah Board of Higher Education Virtual Conference via Zoom Friday, September 8, 2023

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE **MINUTES**

Board Members Present

Javier Chavez, Jr. Jon Cox Amanda Covington Danny Ipson Tina Marriott Larson Steve Neeleman Holly Talbot

Board Members Absent

Sharon Eubank Aaron Skonnard Cvdni Tetro

Office of the Commissioner

Geoff Landward, Deputy Commissioner and Government Relations Director Nate Talley, Deputy Commissioner and CFO Alison Adams-Perlac, General Counsel Trisha Dugovic, Director of Communication Brynn Fronk, Executive Assistant to the Utah Board of Higher Education Julie Hartley, Associate Commissioner of Academic Education Vic Hockett, Associate Commissioner of Talent Ready Utah Lais Martinez, Assistant Commissioner for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Carrie Mayne, Chief Economist Jefferson Moss, Innovation District at The Point Project Director Melissa Van Hien, Office Manager / Executive Assistant to the Commissioner Scott Wyatt, Senior Executive Director of Statewide Online Education

Other Guests

Michiel Bostick, Vice President of Instructional Services, Uintah Basin Technical College Jeff Lund, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Davis Technical College Chris Nelson, Chief University Relations Office and Secretary to the University, University of Utah Patricia Walker, Vice President of Students Services and Marketing, Tooele Technical College

Institutional Presidents Present

Mindy Benson, Southern Utah University Clay Christensen, Mountainland Technical College Elizabeth Cantwell, Utah State University Chad Campbell, Bridgerland Technical College Deneece Huftalin, Salt Lake Community College Stacee McIff, Snow College

Brad Mortensen, Weber State University Jordan Rushton, Dixie Technical College Jim Taggart, Ogden-Weber Technical College Astrid Tuminez, Utah Valley University Richard Williams, Utah Tech University Brennan Wood, Southwest Technical College

Chair Covington called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

m ushe.edu

Committee of the Whole

USHE Updates

Chair Covington announced the members of the Board Executive Committee as Chair Covington, Vice Chair Neeleman, and Board member Javier Chavez Jr. At the request of the Chair, Deputy Commissioner Landward updated the group on Scott Wyatt's contract with the System. Scott will work on the following areas: three-year bachelor's degrees, onboarding higher education students in their first six weeks, disaggregating bachelor's degrees, and higher education degrees awarded by third parties. This was an information item: no action was taken.

Roundtable Discussion with USHE Presidents

Chair Covington asked each president to discuss the opportunities and challenges at their institution. The following topics were areas of the most concern/interest among the presidents:

- 1. Three-year (90-credit) Bachelor's Degrees, Maintain Pell Eligibility, Move as a System
- 2. Performance Funding Model, Reevaluate Some Things, Have Consistency in This and Other Metrics; Recognize Secondary Students in Funding Models; PT v FTE
- 3. Shared Services: Cybersecurity
- 4. Affordable Student Housing; Innovative Approaches
- 5. Credit Transfer Standards within USHE Institutions, Including Stackable Credentials, Articulation Accountability, While Not Diluting Success of Technical Education
- 6. Common Measurement For Economic Value/ Impact, Including Tech Transfer and Entrepreneurship and How that Brings Value to the State
- 7. One Size Does Not Fit All; Continue to Help Tech Colleges Stay Nimble to Industry Needs
- 8. Shared Services: Title IX Issues
- 9. Work Together Instead of Competitively/Incentives to Collaborate
- 10. Funding for Capital Projects; Evaluate for Renovation and Remodel; S.B. 102
- 11. Growth and Capacity for Tech Programs
- 12. Job Market/Employer Collaboration; Optimize Curriculum so Students are Prepared
- 13. Marketing to Promote Value of Higher Ed/ USHE Story
- 14. Shared Solutions to Increase FAFSA; Better Coordinate Financial Aid
- 15. Shared Services: Student Information System, e.g., Northstar & Other Student Technology

This was an information item only; no action was taken.

Board member Larson moved to adjourn. Board member Cox seconded the motion. The Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Geoffrey Landward, Secretary

Date Approved: November 3, 2023

Two Gateway
60 South 400 West

6 801.321.7101