

Utah Board of Higher Education Virtual Conference via Zoom Wednesday, September 13, 2023

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE **MINUTES**

Board Members Present

Board Members Absent

Amanda Covington, Chair Steve Neeleman, MD, Vice Chair Javier Chavez, Jr. Jon Cox Sharon Eubank Danny Ipson Tina Marriott Larson Aaron Skonnard Cvdni Tetro Holly Talbot

Office of the Commissioner

Geoff Landward, Deputy Commissioner and Government Relations Director Nate Talley, Deputy Commissioner and CFO Alison Adams-Perlac, General Counsel Trisha Dugovic, Director of Communication Brynn Fronk, Executive Assistant to the Utah Board of Higher Education

Other Guests

Emily Hobbs, Administrative Chief of Staff, Bridgerland Technical College Stephanie Hollist, General Counsel, Weber State University Carson Howell, Vice President for Finance and Administrative Services, Snow College Wayne Vaught, Provost/Sr. Vice President – Academic Affairs, Utah Valley University

Institutional Presidents Present

Mindy Benson, Southern Utah University Clay Christensen, Mountainland Technical College Paul Hacking, Tooele Technical College Stacee McIff, Snow College Brad Mortensen, Weber State University

Taylor Randall, University of Utah Jordan Rushton, Dixie Technical College Jim Taggart, Ogden-Weber Technical College Richard Williams, Utah Tech University Brennan Wood, Southwest Technical College

Chair Covington called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

Committee of the Whole

Chair Covington welcomed the Board members and guests in attendance.

Board member Tetro moved to go into closed session for the purpose of discussing the character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of an individual. Vice Chair Neeleman seconded the motion. The Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.



Closed Session

Board member Skonnard moved to end closed session. Board member Cox seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

Committee of the Whole

Commissioner's Office Update

Chair Covington announced that Commissioner Dave Woolstenhulme has resigned and thanked him for his service to the Utah System of Higher Education.

Vice Chair Neeleman moved to appoint Geoffrey Landward as interim commissioner of higher education for the state of Utah. Board member Chavez Jr. seconded the motion. The Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

On behalf of the Board, Chair Covington expressed full support of Interim Commissioner Landward. Interim Commissioner Landward thanked the group for their trust and shared his willingness to help with the transition in any way he could.

Board member Larson moved to adjourn. Board member Eubank seconded the motion. The Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

Amanda Covington, Chair

The meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Date Approved: November 3, 2023

