

Utah Board of Higher Education Virtual Conference via Zoom Wednesday, March 6, 2024

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Executive Committee Members Present Amanda Covington, Chair Javier Chavez, Jr.

Executive Committee Members Absent Steve Neeleman, MD, Vice Chair

Office of the Commissioner

Geoff Landward, Interim Commissioner, Deputy Commissioner and Government Relations Director Nate Talley, Deputy Commissioner and CFO Alison Adams, General Counsel Brynn Fronk, Executive Assistant to the Utah Board of Higher Education David Pulsipher, Senior Assistant Commissioner

Chair Covington called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

Opportunity Scholarship FAFSA Requirement Adjustment

Nate Talley explained to the Executive Committee that by statute, Opportunity Scholarship applicants must fill out the FAFSA. Students have had a challenge completing the FAFSA due to changes made by the US Department of Education. Because of this, the Commissioner is recommending application requirements be modified for this application year cycle. This year, students will be asked to attest to their commitment to complete the FAFSA ahead of the August 15 deadline. Board member Chavez, Jr. inquired about the problems filling out the FAFSA. Dave Pulsipher shared that the federal government has had trouble keeping the application up and running. Getting information from the federal government has also been challenging. Board member Chavez, Jr. moved to accept a student's written commitment to complete a 2024/25 FAFSA for the 2024 Opportunity Scholarship application cycle, where reasonably practical, by August 15, 2024, as qualifying eligibility documentation in lieu of 2024-25 FAFSA completion. Chair Covington seconded the motion. The Board Executive Committee members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

Chair Covington moved to adjourn. Board member Chavez, Jr. seconded the motion. The Executive Committee members in attendance voted unanimously in favor, and the motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 10:10 a.m.

Date Approved: March 21, 2024