

Utah Board of Higher Education Salt Lake Community College Friday, April 26, 2024

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE **MINUTES**

Board Members Present

Amanda Covington, Chair Steve Neeleman, Vice Chair Jon Cox (absent from Committee of the Whole at 4:30 p.m.) Sharon Eubank Danny Ipson Tina Marriott Cydni Tetro

Board Members Absent

Javier Chavez Jr. Rachel Prickett Passev Aaron Skonnard

Office of the Commissioner

Geoffrey Landward, Commissioner of Higher Education Nate Talley, Deputy Commissioner and CFO Alison Adams, General Counsel and Board Secretary Kris Coles, Assistant Commissioner for Student Affairs Brynn Fronk, Executive Assistant to the Utah Board of Higher Education Julie Hartley, Associate Commissioner of Academic Education Katie Mazzie, Director of Student-Centered Initiatives Hilary Renshaw, Associate General Council

Salt Lake Community College Board of Trustees

Brady Southwick, Chair

Public SLCC Presidential Candidates

Joshua Baker Dean McCurdy Greg Peterson

Other Guest

Laura Woodworth-Ney, AGB

Chair Covington called the meeting to order at 7:45 a.m.

Board member Ipson moved to go into closed session for the purposes of discussing the character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of an individual. Board member Neeleman seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.1

Closed Session

¹ The reason for the motion was not stated on record at the outset of the closed session, so Chair Covington clarified it later in the day.



Board member Cox moved to end closed session. Board member Tetro seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

Chair Covington clarified the closed session motion from the morning.

Committee of the Whole

Chair Covington welcomed those in attendance and provided brief comments. She addressed the presidential search process and thanked the presidential search committee members for their efforts. SLCC Board of Trustees Chair Brady Southwick provided some brief remarks. Vice Chair Neeleman moved to appoint Gregory F. Peterson to be the next president of Salt Lake Community College. Board member Cox seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed. Chair Covington introduced Dr. Peterson, and Dr. Peterson addressed the group and expressed his appreciation and excitement.

Board member Cox moved to adjourn. Board member Tetro seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 4:25 p.m.

Date Approved: June 6, 2024