

Utah Board of Higher Education Utah Tech University Wednesday, February 26, 2025

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE **MINUTES**

Board Members Present

Amanda Covington, Chair Javier Chavez Jr. (absent from Committee of the Whole at 6:00 p.m.) Jon Cox Sharon Eubank Danny Ipson Cydni Tetro

Board Members Absent

Tina Marriott Steve Neeleman, Vice Chair Aaron Skonnard Muskan Walia

Office of the Commissioner

Geoffrey Landward, Commissioner of Higher Education Alison Adams, General Counsel and Secretary to the Utah Board of Higher Education Taylor Adams, Associate Commissioner of Student Affairs Kris Coles, Assistant Commissioner for Student Affairs Brynn Fronk, Executive Assistant to the Utah Board of Higher Education Vic Hockett, Associate Commissioner of Talent Ready Utah Katie Mazzie, Director of Student-Centered Initiatives Hilary Renshaw, Associate General Counsel Angie Stallings, Deputy Commissioner and COO

Utah Tech University Board of Trustees

Deven Macdonald, Second Vice Chair

Utah Tech University Presidential Candidates

Philip Cavalier Steven Hafen Shane Smeed

Other Guest

Kim Bobby, AGB

Chair Covington called the meeting to order at 7:45 a.m.

Board member Ipson moved to go into closed session for the purpose of discussing the character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of an individual; impending litigation; or the sale of real property. Board member Eubank seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

Closed Session

Chair Covington moved to end closed session. Board member Cox seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

Committee of the Whole

Chair Covington welcomed those in attendance and provided brief comments. She addressed the presidential search process and thanked the presidential search committee members for their efforts. Utah Tech University Board of Trustees Second Vice Chair Deven Macdonald provided brief remarks. Board member Cox moved to appoint as the next president of Utah Tech University Shane Smeed. Board member Tetro seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed. Chair Covington introduced Mr. Smeed, and Mr. Smeed then addressed the group.

Board member Eubank moved to adjourn. Board member Ipson seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 6:25 p.m.

Date Approved: March 27, 2025

m ushe.edu