

UTAH SYSTEM OF TECHNICAL COLLEGES

Board of Trustees Special Meeting
Date: July 30, 2018
Time: 7:00 am - 7:30 am
Anchor location for telephone conference access:
Utah System of Technical Colleges
310 South Main, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
801-341-6000

Board of Trustees Present

Jim Evans, Chair – Mountainland Technical College

Steve Moore – Vice Chair, Ogden-Weber Tech Scott Theurer – Bridgerland Technical College Stephen Wade – Dixie Technical College Michael Jensen, Davis Technical College Brad Tanner – Non-Union Trades Mike Angus – Uintah Basin Technical College Brian Florang – Snow College Catherine Carter – Healthcare

Board of Trustees absent/excused:

Brecken Cox – Transportation Susan Johnson – Manufacturing Chuck Taylor – Southwest Technical College Aaron Osmond – Information Technology

USTC Administration

Dave Woolstenhulme – Commissioner of Technical Education Michael Bouwhuis, Interim Commissioner of Technical Education (Effective 8/15/2018) Jared Haines – Associate Commissioner of Technical Education

Others Present

Kim Ziebarth, Davis Technical College, Vice President of Instruction Russell Galt, Davis Technical College, Vice President of Administrative Services.

MINUTES OF MEETING

UTAH SYSTEM OF TECHNICAL COLLEGES
Board of Trustees Special Meeting
July 30, 2018 – 7:00 am
Meeting Minutes

A. Call to order and welcome – Chair Jim Evans
The meeting was called to order at 7:00 am
Meeting conducted by conference call, anchor location in Salt Lake City, attended by
Commissioner Dave Woolstenhulme.

Roll-call was conducted: Jim Evans, Chair – yes Steve Moore – yes Scott Theurer – yes Stephen Wade – yes Michael Jensen – yes Brad Tanner – yes Mike Angus – yes Brian Florang – yes Catherine Carter – yes

B. Commissioner Search Committee – Approval. In a Special Meeting on July 12, 2018, the Board appointed Vice Chair Steve Moore to serve as the Chair of the Commissioner Search Committee due to Commissioner Dave Woolstenhulme resignation. Chair Moore presented the names of the Commissioner Search Committee members.

Motion: Scott Theurer moved for the board to approve the search committee for the Commissioner's position. Second Mike Angus

Vote: Unanimous

C. The Board previously approved the appointment of Mike Bouwhuis as Interim Commissioner of Technical Education. The Board of Directors of the Davis Technical College is proposing to the Board to approve Kim Ziebarth as the Interim President of the Davis Technical College.

Motion: Mike Jensen moved for the Board to approve the appointment of Kim Ziebarth as the Interim President of Davis Technical College effective August 15, 2018.

Approval of the Davis Technical College Presidential Search Committee, Timeline, and job announcement:

Motion: Scott Theurer moved for the Board to approve the Davis Technical College Search Committee, (pending two names of the Community members to accept their participation as Search Committee members), proposed timeline, job posting of the Davis Technical College President position; as well as the change of location of the November 15, 2018 Board of Trustees Meeting from Ogden-Weber Technical College to the Davis Technical College in conjunction with the final interviews and appointment of the Davis Technical College President. Second. Brad Tanner

Vote: Unanimous.

Adjournment Motion to adjourn: Stephen Wade, Second: Michael Jensen Voting: unanimous

Meeting adjourned at 7:21 am