

UTAH SYSTEM OF TECHNICAL COLLEGES

Board of Trustees Special Meeting
Date: October 15, 2018 - Time: 1:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Little America Hotel
500 South Main St., 84101
801-341-6000

Board of Trustees Present

Jim Evans, Chair – Mountainland Technical College

Steve Moore – Vice Chair, Ogden-Weber Tech Scott Theurer – Bridgerland Technical College Stephen Wade – Dixie Technical College Brad Tanner – Non-Union Trades Mike Angus – Uintah Basin Technical College Susan Johnson – Manufacturing Aaron Osmond – Information Technology Michael Jensen, Davis Technical College

Board of Trustees absent/excused:

Brecken Cox – Transportation Catherine Carter – Healthcare Brian Florang – Snow College Chuck Taylor – Southwest Technical College

USTC Administration

Michael Bouwhuis – Interim Commissioner of Technical Education

<u>College Presidents/Utech Staff Present for the</u> Open Session:

Kim Ziebarth, Davis Technical College, Interim President

Kelle Stephens, Dixie Technical College Aaron Weight, Uintah Basin Technical College Brennan Wood, Southwest Technical College Jim Taggart, Ogden-Weber Technical College Chad Campbell, Bridgerland Technical College Clay Christensen, Mountainland Technical College

Paul Hacking, Tooele Technical College Jared Haines – Associate Commissioner of Technical Education

Zachary Barrus, - Assistant Commissioner Tyler Brinkerhoff – Assistant Commissioner

MINUTES OF MEETING

UTAH SYSTEM OF TECHNICAL COLLEGES
Board of Trustees Special Meeting
October 15, 2018 – 1:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Meeting Minutes

A. Call to order and welcome – Chair Jim Evans Pledge of Allegiance by Trustee Sue Johnson

The meeting was called to order at 1:00 pm Roll-call was conducted:
Jim Evans, Chair – yes
Steve Moore – yes
Scott Theurer – yes
Stephen Wade – yes
Brad Tanner – yes
Mike Angus – yes
Susan Johnson – yes
Aaron Osmond – yes
Michael Jensen – yes

Closed Session

Motion to go into closed session, as provided in Utah Statute 52-4-204 and 205, to discuss the character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of individuals.

Motion: Aaron Osmond, Seconded: Steve Moore

Voting: unanimous

The Board entered closed session at 1:03 pm

Review of Commissioner of Technical Education Final Candidates

Interview of Final Candidates

Final Review of Candidates and possible appointment of Commissioner of Technical

Education.

A roll-call was conducted:

Jim Evans, Chair – yes

Steve Moore – yes

Scott Theurer – yes

Stephen Wade – yes

Brad Tanner – yes

Mike Angus – yes

Susan Johnson – yes

Aaron Osmond – yes

Michael Jensen – yes

The Board reconvened in open session at 5:46 pm

Motion: The selection of the Commissioner of the Utah System of Technical Colleges by the Board of Trustees will be tabled pending further due diligence not to extend beyond October

Motion: Scott Theurer, Seconded: Michael Jensen

Voting: Unanimous

Adjournment

Motion to adjourn: Chuck Taylor, Seconded: Brad Tanner

Voting: unanimous

Meeting adjourned at 5:54 pm