The Utah College of Applied Technology (UCAT)
Board of Trustees Special Meeting
via Conference Call

DATE: 3 February 2017 TIME: 7:30 AM – 8:30 AM

LOCATION: Utah College of Applied Technology

2801 Ashton Boulevard Lehi, UT 84043

(Anchor location for electronic access)

MINUTES

Board of Trustees Present
Jim Evans, Chair – MATC*
Steve Moore, Vice Chair – OWATC*
Scott Theurer – BATC*
Michael Jensen – DATC*
Stephen Wade – DXATC*
Dave Ulery – TATC*
Mike Angus – UBATC*

Brad Tanner – Non-Union Apprenticeship*
Dale Cox – Union Apprenticeship*
Jesselie Anderson – State Board of Regents*

Board of Trustees Absent

Jerry Taylor – SWATC
W. Tim Miller – Salt Lake Community College
Brian Florang – Snow College
Jim Olsen – Governor's Appointee Business/Industry
Val Hale – Governor's Office of Economic Development

UCAT Administration

Dave Woolstenhulme - Commissioner Jared Haines – Associate Commissioner Tyler Brinkerhoff – Associate Commissioner Doug Richards – Legal Counsel

Others Present
Kelle Stephens – DXATC, President*

^{*}participated via electronic access

MINUTES OF MEETING

UTAH COLLEGE OF APPLIED TECHNOLOGY

Board of Trustees

3 February 2017

(Draft – Pending Board Approval)

I. INTRODUCTION ITEMS

Meeting was called to order at 7:32 a.m. with roll call attendance.

II. ACTION ITEMS

B. Bond Payment for DXATC Building Expansion

Commissioner Woolstenhulme briefed the Board on the background of bond payment arrangements for the Dixie Applied Technology College building currently under construction. The Board of Trustees in its 17 September 2015 meeting approved DXATC's Building Funding Plan, which provided for securing a \$5-8 million bond with Washington County and associated repayment. President Stephens and Trustee Wade reported on DXATC's efforts to secure additional non-state funding and build space for automotive programs that had been cut with the original budget. Washington County offered to increase its bond, which would provide DXATC an additional \$1 million for the building.

Motion to approve the bond for \$9 million. Motion: Stephen Wade, Second: Scott Theurer

After discussion to the motion, the motion passed with a roll-call vote of 6-2:

Yeas: Evans, Moore, Wade, Theurer, Ulery, Tanner.

Nays: Angus, Cox

(Absent for the vote: Jensen)

III. ADJOURN

Motion to Adjourn: Stephen Wade

Voting: Unanimous

Meeting adjourned at 8:32 a.m.