Public Safety Officer Career Advancement Reimbursement (PSOCAR) and Grant (PSOCAG) Programs

The PSOCAR Program was changed to a grant program in the 2022 Legislative Session, which is now called PSOCAG. PSOCAR will continue to reimburse qualified applicants for academic coursework completed during the 2020-2021 academic year (2022 reimbursement) and the 2021-2022 academic year (2023 reimbursement). Students attending school during the 2022-2023 academic year may contact their financial aid office to apply for grant funding. While reimbursements are being phased out, a student could potentially receive both awards during the same year. Please note that grant recipients will be limited to four total awards, including prior reimbursement awards. Detailed rules for PSOCAG may be found here.

PSOCAR reimburses up to half of tuition and fees (maximum of $5,000 per year, subject to funding) for students enrolled in criminal justice-related programs at a Utah System of Higher Education institution, for up to eight years. Detailed rules for PSOCAR may be found here.

Qualified PSOCAR applicants must:

  • be a certified peace officer, currently employed by a law enforcement agency in Utah;
  • be seeking a postsecondary degree in the area of criminal justice from a credit-granting USHE institution;
  • have earned credit for all classes for which the applicant is seeking reimbursement;
  • be employed by a law enforcement agency in Utah as a certified peace officer for three consecutive years prior to the completion of the academic year for which he or she is seeking reimbursement; and
  • be employed by a law enforcement agency in Utah as a certified peace officer for one additional year after the completion of that academic year. 

Applications are due between July 1 and September 1, 2022.

2022 Applications will reimburse the 2020-2021 academic year as defined by your institution.

Download the 2020-21 reimbursement application.

Applications must be postmarked or received by the PSOCAR program contact for your institution listed below on or before the application deadline to be considered for funding.

PSOCAR Contacts—for PSOCAG questions, please contact the financial aid office.
Salt Lake Community College
Julia Ellis
Program Manager, Institute of Public Safety
9750 S. 300 W., PSET 270
Sandy, UT 84070
(801) 957-5320
Snow College
Dennis Schugk
Assistant Professor
150 E. College Ave.
Ephraim, UT 84627
(435) 283-7580
Southern Utah University
Delane Smith
Lecturer, Associate Department Chair
351 W. University Blvd.
Cedar City, UT 84720
(435) 586-5410
University of Utah
Heather Melton
Director of Criminology Program
390 S. 1530 E. #301
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
(801) 581-3108
Utah State University
M. Scott Henrie
Associate Professor, CJ Coordinator
451 E. 400 N.
Price, UT 84501
(435) 613-5135
Utah Tech University
Michele Tisdale
University Plaza Building D 103A
St. George, UT 84770
(435) 879-4424
Utah Valley University
Melissa Noyes
CJ Department Chair800 W. University Parkway
Orem, UT 84058
(801) 863-5847
Weber State University
Molly Sween
CJ Department Chair
Lindquist Hall, Room 306
Ogden, UT 84408
(801) 626-7293