Ty Aller appointed 2016-17 Student Regent

Governor Gary Herbert appointed Ty Aller, a PhD student at Utah State University, as the 2016-17 Student Regent. Mr. Aller is majoring in Family and Human Development and previously earned a master’s degree in Marriage and Family Therapy and a bachelor’s degree in both Psychology and Political Science—all from USU. He will serve one year as a voting member of the Board of Regents.

“As a first-generation student, I recognize the unique  challenges that students without family that have attended a university face. Many of these challenges center around accessing funding. Additionally, many of our students are now facing mental health problems that affect their personal life and schooling career requiring immediate attention.” Ty said. “I believe that my unique experience as a first-generation student, having attended both undergraduate and graduate programs in Utah, and being in both professional and research programs in graduate school have provided me with a very diverse experience to advocate for all students of Utah.”

Ty has been involved with the Utah Student Association as well as several on-campus initiatives at USU, where he has served as the Graduate Studies Senator, sitting on other committees including the USU Fee Board, and Faculty Senate. He has also been heavily involved with the Utah Student Association’s mental health awareness initiative that will continue this year for the third consecutive year.

The Student Regent plays an important role to the Board in representing the student voice in the Utah System of Higher Education. The Student Regent works with the Utah Student Association whose leadership is comprised of the Student Body Presidents of Utah colleges and universities. Mr. Aller is the 39th Student Regent since the student position on the Board of Regents was first established in 1977.

2016-2017Ty B. AllerUtah State University
2015-2016Bailey L. BowthorpeSouthern Utah University
2014-2015Brady L. HarrisWeber State University
2012-2014Erik MikkelsenUtah State University
2011-2013Thomas D. LeavittDixie State College
2010-2012David E. SmithUtah Valley University
2009-2010Jeffrey KinselSouthern Utah University
2008-2009Basim MotiwalaUniversity of Utah
2007-2008Amy EnghUtah Valley State College
2006-2007Ali HasnainUniversity of Utah
2005-2006Gaby Bradford KingerySalt Lake Community College/University of Utah*
2004-2005Trent KempSalt Lake Community College/Utah State University*
2003-2004William (Billy) EdwardsUniversity of Utah
2002-2003Khay DouangdaraUtah Valley State College
2001-2002John B. Norman, Jr.University of Utah College of Law
2000-2001Robert W. PetersonUtah State University
1999-2000Brian D. BrownWeber State University
1998-1999Robert K. ReynardSouthern Utah University
1997-1998Andrew CroshawUtah State University
1996-1997W. Brett GrahamUniversity of Utah
1995-1996Stacee YardleySouthern Utah University
1994-1995Andrea Udy OpfarSalt Lake Community College/University of Utah*
1993-1994Mark D. FisherSalt Lake Community College/Southern Utah University*
1992-1993Larry D. CoxSnow College/Utah State University*
1991-1992Douglas S. PetersonWeber State University
1990-1991Jon E. JordanSalt Lake Community College/University of Utah*
1989-1990Stephanie Jensen JorgensenWeber State University
1988-1989Jacqueline MorganUniversity of Utah
1987-1988George R. MarshalUtah Valley State College/University of Utah*
1986-1987Scott L. WyattUtah State University
1985-1986Kenneth L. HarveySouthern Utah State College
1984-1985G. Bradley HowellWeber State University
1983-1984Mont WrightUtah State University
1982-1983Richard S. SouthwickWeber State University
1981-1982Holly SloanUniversity of Utah
1980-1981D. Bryan SteeleWeber State University
1979-1980Cyndi WoodburySouthern Utah State College
1978-1979Timothy R. ZophUniversity of Utah
1977-1978Paul A. WattersonUtah State University
*Institutions to which students transferred after completing their community college academic program

Media Inquiries

Trisha Dugovic
Communications Director