Utah State University Presidential Search Committee named by Utah Board of Higher Education

The Utah Board of Higher Education has named a 19-member committee to conduct a national search for the next president of Utah State University.

The search committee will be co-chaired by Utah Board of Higher Education member Richard Wheeler and Utah State University Board of Trustees Chair Kent Alder. It is comprised of representatives from the Board of Higher Education, trustees and institutional stakeholders, including faculty, staff, students, administration, alumni and community members. A national search firm has been retained to aid in the process.

“Utah State University is recognized locally and nationally for its groundbreaking research and innovation,” said Wheeler, committee co-chair. “We have selected exceptional individuals with strong ties to USU to conduct the search for the university’s next president. We are deeply thankful for the time they will offer to the search process and look forward to sharing our list of finalists with the Board of Higher Education.”

“Utah State is on a tremendous trajectory, having just this year celebrated a new veterinary medicine college, a new campus in Moab, and the largest class of incoming first-year students ever,” said Kent Alder, chair of the USU Board of Trustees. “I’m excited we have a diverse committee, which includes many perspectives, to identify a leader who will guide USU into its next phase of excellence.”

Below is a complete list of the Utah State University Presidential Search Committee members:

Board of Higher Education
Richard (Rick) WheelerBoard member and Search Committee Co-Chair
Scott TheurerBoard member
Utah State University Board of Trustees
Kent AlderChair and Search Committee Co-Chair
Gina GagonTrustee
Wayne NiederhauserTrustee
Utah State University Administration, Faculty and Staff
Lisa M. BerreauVice President, Office of Research
John FergusonSenior Lecturer and Faculty Senate President
Christy GlassProfessor of Sociology
Alan L. SmithDean, Emma Eccles Jones College of Education & Human Services
Kristian J. OlsenAssociate Vice President, USU Blanding
Kelly KoppDirector,  Center for Water Efficient Landscaping; Professor; Extension Specialist
Utah State University Student
Clara AlderUSU Student Body President; Utah Student Association (USA) President
Community/Alumni Representatives
Ronald W. JibsonRetired President and CEO, Questar Corporation
Douglas FiefiaUSU Foundation Board Member
Jim LaubCEO, Cache Valley Electric
Ernesto LópezLogan Municipal Council; Director of Online Programs, USU Extension
Sian SmithDirector of Alumni Engagement, USU
Marilyn CuchDirector, Undergraduate Secondary Teacher Education Program and Senior Lecturer, USU Uintah Basin
*Bios available upon request 

In the near future, the Presidential Search Committee will host public forums to obtain input from the USU community and the general public on the presidential search. The committee’s duties will include approving a position announcement, calling for nominations and applications with the assistance of a national search firm, screening applicants, and recommending three to five finalists to the Board of Higher Education. It is anticipated that a new president will be selected by the summer of 2023.

For more information about the Utah State University presidential search, visit usu.edu/president-search/.

Suggestions and/or comments regarding the search process can be sent to usupresidentialsearch@ushe.edu.

Media Inquiries

Trisha Dugovic
Communications Director