Utah Senate Confirms Governor’s Appointments to Board of Higher Education

Utah State Capitol building

The Utah Senate confirmed nine of Governor Cox’s appointments to the Utah Board of Higher Education on June 14 during day one of the 2023 2nd Special Session at the Utah State Capitol.

Board members confirmed include:

  • Javier Chavez Jr., founder of Cerveza Zólupez Beer Company
  • Amanda Covington, chief corporate affairs officer for Larry H. Miller Company
  • Jon Cox, principal at Utah Public Affairs
  • Sharon Eubank, director of Latter-day Saint Charities worldwide
  • Danny Ipson, CFO and managing member at DATS Trucking/Overland Petroleum
  • Tina Larson, president and COO at Recursion
  • Steve Neeleman, founder and vice chair at HealthEquity
  • Aaron Skonnard, co-founder and CEO of Pluralsight

The Senate also confirmed Holly Talbot, who attends Uintah Basin Technical College and Utah State University, who was named to serve as the student member of the Board. Cydni Tetro, CEO of Brandless, was absent from the Senate Education Confirmation Committee due to prior obligations and will likely be confirmed by the full Senate at a later date. 

“We are confident that higher education in the state of Utah will continue to be in great hands with our newly confirmed Board,” said Dave Woolstenhulme, commissioner of higher education. “I look forward to working with them to create innovative new solutions for Utah college students.”

The Board of Higher Education was reconstituted in the 2023 legislative session to be comprised of nine community members and one student member. The newly confirmed Board members’ terms will begin July 1, 2023.

Media Inquiries

Trisha Dugovic
Communications Director