Utah Valley University Presidential Search Committee members named by the Board of Regents

Search Committee to host two public meetings Nov. 28

The Board of Regents has named a 24-member committee to conduct a national search for the next president of Utah Valley University. UVU President Matthew Holland announced on November 6, 2017, that he has been called to serve as a mission president for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. He will continue to serve as UVU President through early June 2018.

The search committee will be co-chaired by Regent Steven J. Lund and UVU Board of Trustees Chair Elaine Dalton. It is comprised of representatives from the Board of Regents, trustees, and institutional stakeholders including faculty, staff, students, administration, alumni, and community members. For more information on the search, visit uvu.edu/presidentsearch.

“Utah Valley University has been a leader in the dual-mission approach to higher education, and exemplifies this approach in the success of its students. We recognize the importance of UVU to the surrounding communities and to the state as a whole, and we took the utmost care in selecting this committee to ensure each member has a strong connection to UVU and is dedicated to making sure the university’s future is bright,” said Daniel Campbell, Chair of the Board of Regents. “I appreciate the willingness of these committee members to lend their expertise and time to this process, and I look forward to hearing input from the UVU community at the public meetings on November 28.”

Below is a complete list of the U. presidential search committee members:

Board of Regents

  • Steven Lund, Search Committee Co-Chair
  • Daniel W. Campbell, Regent Chair
  • Nina Barnes
  • Wilford Clyde

UVU Board of Trustees

  • Elaine Dalton, Search Committee Co-Chair, Trustee Chair
  • Duff Thompson, Trustee 1st Vice Chair
  • Jack Sunderlage, Trustee 2nd Vice Chair
  • Rob Smith, Student Body President

UVU Administration, Faculty, and Staff

  • Kyle Reyes, Vice President of Student Services
  • Forrest Williams, Dean, University College
  • Steve Clark, Dean of Humanities and Social Science
  • Janet Colvin, Department Chair, Communications
  • Olga Kopp, Professor of Biology
  • Paige Garnder, Assistant Professor, School of Business
  • Bryan Waite, Department Chair, Secondary Education
  • Kate McPherson, Director of the Honors Program
  • Craig Thulin, Faculty Senate President
  • Shalece Nuttall, Staff Association President

Community/Alumni Representatives

  • Debbie Bingham, Co-founder, Blue Diamond Capital
  • Steve Smoot, Associate Chief Operating Officer, Intermountain Health Care
  • Jeff Sermon, President and CEO, Utah Community Credit Union
  • Carine Clark, President and CEO, Banyan
  • Mary Crafts Homer, Founder and CEO, Culinary Crafts
  • Rick Woodbury, Chairman, Woodbury Corporation

The presidential search committee will hold two public meetings on Tuesday, November 28, 2017, to obtain input from members of Utah Valley University community and the general public on the presidential search.

Public Meetings on Tuesday, Nov. 28

  • Meeting 1: 3:00-4:00pm
  • Meeting 2: 6:00-7:00pm

SB134, Science Building Auditorium
Utah Valley University
800 W University Parkway
Orem, UT

Based on this feedback, the committee will approve a position announcement and call for nominations and applications. The committee will then screen applications for the position and conduct interviews with candidates. After deliberating, the committee will recommend three to five finalists to the Board of Regents.

Media Inquiries

Trisha Dugovic
Communications Director