Public Safety Officer Career Advancement Reimbursement (PSOCAR) Program

The PSOCAR Program reimburses up to half of tuition and fees (maximum of $5,000 per year, subject to funding) for students enrolled in criminal justice-related programs at a Utah System of Higher Education institution and is available for up to eight academic years.

Detailed rules for this program can be found in Utah Code Title 53B, Chapter 8, Section 112 and Utah Board of Higher Education policy R613. Qualified applicants must:

  • be a certified peace officer, currently employed by a law enforcement agency in Utah;
  • be seeking a postsecondary degree in the area of criminal justice from a credit-granting USHE institution;
  • have earned credit for all classes for which the applicant is seeking reimbursement;
  • be employed by a law enforcement agency in Utah as a certified peace officer for three consecutive years prior to the completion of the academic year for which he or she is seeking reimbursement; and
  • be employed by a law enforcement agency in Utah as a certified peace officer for one additional year after the completion of that academic year. 

Applications are due between July 1 and September 1, 2021.

2021 Applications will reimburse the 2019-2020 academic year as defined by your institution.

Download the 2019-20 reimbursement application.

Applications must be postmarked or received by the PSOCAR program contact for your institution listed below on or before the application deadline to be considered for funding. 


Dixie State University
Dr. Lish Harris
Associate Professor of CJ
225 S. 700 E.
St. George, UT 84770
(435) 879-4423
Southern Utah University
Delane Smith
Lecturer, Associate Department Chair
351 W. University Blvd.
Cedar City, UT 84720
(435) 586-5410
Salt Lake Community College
Julia Ellis
Program Manager, Institute of Public Safety
9750 S. 300 W., PSET 270
Sandy, UT 84070
(801) 957-5320
University of Utah
Heather Melton
Director of Criminology Program
390 S. 1530 E. #301
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
(801) 581-3108
Snow College
Dennis Schugk
Assistant Professor
150 E. College Ave.
Ephraim, UT 84627
(435) 283-7580
Utah State University
M. Scott Henrie
Associate Professor, CJ Coordinator
451 E. 400 N.
Price, UT 84501
(435) 613-5135
Utah Valley University
Bobbi Kassel
Department Chair, Associate Professor
800 W. University Parkway
Orem, UT 84058
(801) 863-8489
Weber State University
Brent Horn
CJ Department Chair
1299 Edvalson St. Dept 1206
Ogden, UT 84408
(801) 626-8846