Board of Higher Education Meeting

: December 18, 2020

Location: Virtual Conference

Friday, December 18, 2020


10:00 AM – 12:00 PM


  1. Call to Order
  2. Student Presentation
    1. Anna Lightheart – Surgical Technology
    2. Ish Magalei – Welding
    3. Bryce Krieger – Utah Valley University
    4. Aarushi Rohaj – University of Utah
  3. Committee Updates  TAB A
    1. Lisa-Michele Church
    2. Pat Jones
    3. Wilford Clyde
    4. Shawn Newell



  1. Equity Lens Framework TAB B
  2. Scholarship Discussion TAB C
  3. General Consent Calendar TAB D
  4. Cicero Report, Dixie State University Name Impact TAB E



  1. Campus Safety Baseline Report TAB F
  2. Innovation Task Force TAB G
  3. COVID – 19 Update




Projected times for the various meetings are estimates only.  The Board Chair retains the right to take action at any time. In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations (including auxiliary communicative aids and services) during this meeting should notify ADA Coordinator, 60 South 400 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84180 (801-646-4783), at least three working days prior to the meeting.  TDD # 801-321-7130.


Friday, December 18, 2020



Board Members Present   
Harris H. Simmons, Chair
Aaron Osmond, Vice Chair
Nina R. Barnes, Vice Chair
Mike Angus
Wilford W. Clyde
Jesselie B. Anderson
Jera L. Bailey
Stacey K. Bettridge
Arthur E. Newell
Patricia Jones
Lisa-Michele Church
Scott Theurer
Crystal Maggelet
Shawn Newell
Candyce Damron
Glen Rivera
Alan E. Hall

Board Members Absent
Sanchaita Datta

Office of the Commissioner
Dave R. Woolstenhulme, Commissioner of Higher Education
Rich Amon, Chief Financial Officer
Geoffrey Landward, Deputy Commissioner and General Counsel
Jessica Gilmore, Associate Commissioner of Workforce Development
Malissa Jones, Office Manager

Institutional Presidents Present
Chad Campbell, Bridgerland Technical College
Richard B. Williams, Dixie State University
Clay Christensen, Mountainland Technical College
Deneece G. Huftalin, Salt Lake Community College
Scott L. Wyatt, Southern Utah University
Paul Hacking, Tooele Technical College
Ruth V. Watkins, University of Utah
Astrid S. Tuminez, Utah Valley University
Darin Brush, Davis Technical College
Kelle Stephens, Dixie Technical College
Jim Taggart, Ogden-Weber Technical College
Brad J. Cook, Snow College
Brennan Wood, Southwest Technical College
Aaron Weight, Uintah Basin Technical College
Noelle Cockett, Utah State University
Brad L. Mortensen, Weber State University

Chair Simmons called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

Committee of the Whole

Student Presentations

Student Presentations provided by Anna Lightheart, Ish Magalei, Bryce Krieger, Aarushi Rohaj. This was an information item only; no action was taken.

Committee Updates (TAB A)

Committee updates were provided by Board member Church, Board member Jones, Board member Newell, and Board member Clyde. This was an information item only; no action was taken.

Equity Lens Framework (TAB B)

Committee chairs provided information about how each committee will use the Equity Lens Framework in their committees and in their strategic planning process. Board member Jones made a motion to adopt the Equity Lens Framework to guide decision-making at the Board and System level; Board member Church seconded the motion and the motion passed.

Scholarship Discussion (TAB C)

Board member Church and Spencer Jenkins provided a summary of the proposed revisions to the Regents’ Scholarship, New Century Scholarship, and Technical Education Scholarships. Board member Damron made a motion for the Board to adopt the Commissioner’s recommendation found in the Proposed Revisions to Utah System of Higher Education Scholarships memo (Tab C) and for staff to continue its efforts in anticipation of the 2021 Legislative Session; Board member Shawn Newell seconded the motion and the motion passed. 

General Consent Calendar (TAB D)

On a motion by Board member Arthur Newell and seconded by Board Vice Chair Osmond, the following items were approved on the Board’s General Consent Calendar

  • Minutes – Minutes of the Board meeting October 30, 2020
  • Finance and Facilities Items
  • Student Affairs Items
  • Academic Education Items
  • Grant Proposals
  • Awards

Cicero Report, Dixie State University Name Impact (TAB E)

Dixie State President Richard Williams introduced the Cicero Group to provide a summary of the

‘Dixie’ Name Impact Study. Board Vice Chair Osmond made a motion that the Utah Board of Higher Education support the recommendation from Dixie State University’s Board of Trustees to change the university’s name; I further move that the Board recommend to the Legislature that it change the name of Dixie State University; Board member Hall seconded the motion and the motion passed.

Campus Safety Baseline Report (TAB F)

Board member Church introduced Marlon Lynch, Chief Safety Officer at the University of Utah, and Cameron Hansen from Cicero Group to provide a summary of the Campus Safety Baseline Report. This was an information item only; no action was taken.

Innovation Task Force and COVID–19 Update were moved to the January Board meeting agenda.

The meeting adjourned at 12:22 p.m.

Date Approved: 1/15/2021